Life is better in person, but pictures are the next best thing

Other places to visit...

Friday, November 28, 2014

Turkeysaurus Rex and the dinosaur called Thanksgiving

Hello friends, 

I'm headed off to bed shortly. But I thought of all of you as I was wrapping up cleaning the dishes this evening. I haven't talked to you in a while, so I'll give you a recap of the last weeks events. 

We've been in full Thanksgiving planning for quite some time. I've been point woman on the festivities which included: Thanksgiving on Thursday with other foreigners, cooking a storm on Friday (today) and then a large group Thanksgiving with our Chinese friends. 

So, Tuesday, Tony and I spent about 3 hours at the grocery store getting all the supplies and such for this large extravaganza. Oh, I should mention we are expecting 60+ people for Saturday. 

Wednesday, Tony made shepherds pie, and I made apple pie together after school. 

Thursday, Thanksgiving!! But, I had school. China doesn't observe western holidays... Which obviously makes sense... doesn't mean I like it. Then after school I headed back to warm the pies. Both shepherd and apple... and Tony and I headed into town to the shindig. 

It was great. There was good company, good food, and we played a fun 'get to know you' game. 

Then.... THEN! Friday. Hang on to something, this is about to get crazy. 

I had to teach in the morning, finishing two classes at about 11:30 and I walked home (about 15 minutes) stopping along the way to pick up some yeast (it's important later) and get some lunch. 

When I arrived home I took the turkey out of the fridge to warm to room temp and dry off. OH, I totally forgot to tell you that my friends and I killed a turkey. Tony went to Wenling, a city south of here, and bought a live turkey. You heard me. Live. He took it to school on Monday and everywhere that Tony went the Turkey was sure to go........   ..... sorry. 

Anyway, on Monday night we decided to lop off Turkeysaurus's head. (that's his name) We prepped, we had a little liquid courage, and finally we just did it. Unfortunately, we were unaware of the practice usually involved in bird murder..... You tie the wings together so they don't flop so bad. We just had Seth and Jordan holding them. So as soon as the head came off and the bird went berserk! they let go and ran, so the bird was left to flop around the room. Seth also chose this moment to go berserk as well. I am not using the term berserk carelessly here. Its the only word that properly describes what he did. Running around the bird and trying to catch it, screaming quite loudly and trying to not step in the blood. 

If you have the stomach for it... and are looking for a good laugh... here's the video 


Okay, back to Friday, I had taken the turkey out of the fridge. Here's the order of events. Ate lunch. Made banana bread. Made another banana bread. Made rolls. Set oil on the stove to heat. Made more rolls. Wrapped my arm in a towel and glove (rubber bands were used) and grabbed Turkeysaurus by the wing. 

Lowered him gently into the oil...which promptly overflowed all over the counter. Effectively scaring the shit out of all of us (oil+stove=fire) But I stuck my gloved hand into the spatter to turn off the burner and quickly mopped all the oil into the sink. Through all this I was telling Seth (my sous chef) that we had to get the burner going again or the turkey would be lost. So we got it cleaned up a bit and the burner going again. 

(whew)

Then, I left Seth to watch over Turkeysaurus. Made more rolls. Gave Petra instructions for banana bread. And another banana bread. Took the turkey off the stove and set to cool on a rack. 

Of course I had to see if he was done, so I cut out a small piece and take a bite. I promptly swoon with the amount of flavor in my mouth. IT WAS SO GOOD!! So good. 

Now, all of these things happen simultaneously: Eggs boil. And cool. Potatoes washed and sliced. Eggs peeled. Deviled eggs made. Waldorf salad made. Chicken breasts thawed. Turkey carved. 

Then, chicken gets deep fried because Turkeysaurus turned out so well. And cleaning-paloooza commences. 

Now, I'm headed to bed and the items we have sitting for lunch tomorrow:
  • 4 banana breads
  • 3 batches of rolls (about 80)
  • Turkey
  • Chicken
  • Waldorf salad
  • 60 deviled eggs
  • gravy (made from turkey juices)
  • cranberry sauce
  • Mashed potatoes (get made in morning)
  • Stuffing (morning too)
  • Fruit salad (also morning)
  • Rice (because this is china)
  • veggies (just need to heat up)
And then everything needs to be warmed for serving. And we will have ourselves a pleasant little feast. And I say little, but I mean whopping. 

I'm practically falling asleep as I type and sorely need to go to bed. So I bid you adieu and will update you on the success of tomorrows lunch and if we had enough food or if we have a mountain of leftovers. 

Happy Thanksgiving, and Merry Start of Christmas music all the time!

Until next time. 

Sunday, November 16, 2014

NEW!!

Quick thing...

Usually I don't have too many new things happening in my daily life. China is china, and I'm just being me. But yesterday (Saturday) I was on my way home on the bus. Which was crowded. As per the norm on a saturday. But it seemed extra crowded. I mean, sardines have more room to wiggle in their canisters than this bus did. Anyway, we were about half way home and all of a sudden...

PHthudaKaTAdisssSSsssssssss

We went over a bump and flat tire. The front tire of the bus. Flat.

We all got off and some people walked to the next stop a couple hundred yards up the road. Carina and I waited for a taxi. Which took about 20 min or so because we were not in a part of town that has many taxis.

We got a taxi and got home and it was fine. But it was something new for the books.

Until next time.

Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Shanghai Shenanigans, and the Kitchen rampage

Episode 1: Shanghai Shenanigans

I had off of school last week on Thursday and Friday.

So in good teacher fashion.....

I left town!

I headed up to Shanghai on Thursday afternoon to spend some quality time with my SH friends. I met Jen and we went to Ikea for some meatballs and ice cream for dinner. Friday, I spent the morning laying in bed/napping. Because what else is a girl to do on her day off? Then, we made dinner. Jen, Sam and I made a chicken stir fry and steak fries and watched movies with Jon and Horatia. It was great fun. We watched some "Boy Meets World" while dinner was cooking, and then "How to train your dragon" because it's only the best ever, and finished with some "Secret life of Walter Mitty" which I'll admit was slightly frustrating... But ended up being great.

Then Saturday rose with some rain, but cleared up quickly and we biked downtown to peruse the fancy mall, have lunch at Mex&Co.

Yes. Mexican. Real (mostly) Mexican. I had a burrito and it was scrumptious. Then we headed home to make banana bread for our friends coming for dinner. It was great because I got to see a couple girls who lived in SX last year, and now are living in SH. They didn't know I'd be there, so it was a great reaction from them when I walked around the corner.

Then Sunday, we went to Ch.rch followed by the giant market located in the metro stop for the Science and Technology museum. I don't think the market has an actual name. Everyone just calls it by the metro stop.

Anywhoooo, this market has the 'mecca' of Vera Bradley. Which means theres a ton of stuff, and you can get it for fairly cheap.

This does not make things easier. Actually, more choices made it harder. But I knew I wanted a backpack. That was the only thing I knew. Then....

WHAT PATTERN??

If you know anything about Vera, she's got a plethora of options.....

I finally settled on a pattern called "Bittersweet" which is a plump floral of autumn colors with a scattering of black and white geometric lines pleasantly accenting. And I caved into the aura that is Vera and got a cosmetic bag too in a pattern that I can't remember the name of... But it's a grey base with a few bright pastel colored flowers that just make you wanna smile. I bargained a bit, but the woman was a shark. So I ended up getting both pieces for about $70. Still a good deal.

Then, as we were walking about the place, I caught sight of a yellow suitcase. Now, I need a new suitcase because the wheel on one of mine was broken. But I wasn't really looking to buy one at the time. I was gonna have a friend back in SX take me to a place that was cheap.... But I thought, "What the heck? I'll ask."

I meander in to the store and look (not touch, just look) at the suitcase in question. The woman selling them, comes over in full salesman mode. She says 'it's a good case', 'you should buy it'... so I ask the inevitable question of how much. 580RMB. (Which is just shy of $100)

On my chinese salary, and with the money I have on me... I can't afford this. Plus, seeing as how I didn't really want to buy the thing, I decided to see how low she could go. So, I said I'd give her 200 for it. She gets this screwed up look on her face and goes 'oh, no no no, I can't. Give me a little more. Your best price' ... and I say, 200. She goes... 400?

Okay, better.... But I need to remind you. I don't have that much. And I should really say. I have no money. I used it all at the Vera mecca. So, I'm relying on Jen. (She said she could help, bless her heart)

Back to the bartering with this woman.... After her offer of 400 I say "I don't think we're seeing eye to eye" and I start to leave. I have to walk around a center display of suitcases. As I reach the first corner headed toward the door, she says... 'okay, 300' ... I keep walking with a response of 'no, i can't sorry' and as I hit the corner closest to the day, she says 'okay okay! 200'

At this point I'm trying to keep my cool, and say 'okay, I'll take it.' But on the inside I'm doing a happy dance and fist pumping the air, and going 'BOOYAH!!!' I never expected her to go down that far from 580. Which means that I spent approximately $33 on a full size, four wheeled, hard side suitcase... That happens to be sunshine yellow (my favorite).

Please... hold your applause. ;)

And that's basically the highlight of my trip. It gets a little hairy from that point. We go home and I load up my new goodies, and my back pack of clothes into my new suitcase and head for the metro. Which takes it's sweet time, so when I arrive at the train station I have a whopping 12 minutes to get up three flights of escalators (none of which are next to each other), through train security, get to my gate and on my train. This doesn't look promising. I get off the metro, scamper to the main floor, up to departures, thankfully there no line at security, but I enter at gate 23.... Mine is 8. Luckily my new suitcase rolls like a bowling ball on a fresh lane, and I run toward my gate. I make it with a few minutes to spare, to get down the escalator to the platform and onto the train. There were other people still boarding which made me feel better. But 'whew' was I sweaty and so thankful.


Episode 2: Kitchen Rampage

It's Wednesday. My Shanghai adventure is fresh but fading as I settle into my routine again. Today, I got the itch to cook. I had planned on making banana bread because we have friends coming over for snacks tomorrow. I had also been wanting to try apple pie. See if it is a thanksgiving possibility. Annnnndddd, I suddenly had a craving last night for meatloaf.

Now, usually when these things hit me, I lack the motivation for more than one endeavor. Today was different. I had the recipes ready. I had my list made, and Walmart had a sale on ketchup. (coincidence? I think not)

Let me break it down....

  • I arrive home from the store with my goodies. 
  • I get the oven going, and start with banana bread prep.
  • Banana bread goes in the oven, pie crust prep starts
  • The pie crust gets tossed in the fridge to chill, and banana bread comes out to cool. (I need the pan that it's in for the meatloaf)
  • Meat loaf gets messy... I love squishing it with my fingers. I have to chop an onion so this part takes a little bit. 
  • Banana bread comes out, pan gets a quick wash and dry, grease and the meatloaf goes in the oven. 
  • Apples get washed, peeled and sliced. Crust gets rolled out and placed into pan with apples, and then the lattice top. (I know, fancy!)
  • Meat loaf is ready to come out. I wasn't sure, but now I know that I got pork at the store. Which works just as well as beef. But it makes the meatloaf look a little funny. So I check it a bunch to make sure its done. It is. Out it comes!! And it smells like home. 
  • Apple pie goop (thats only word that comes to mind with this stuff) gets heated on the stove and then poured over the lattice top. Into the OVEN!!! 
  • The meatloaf was cooling, and the apple pie needed to change temp after 15 min, so I decided to clean and do dishes. (This kitchen rampage made a fair number of dishes)
  • Dishes done, meatloaf cooled a bit too long reheated and I finally got to eat dinner at 7:20. It was most tasty. 
  • Apple pie done and now I'm writing to you. 
I'm debating if I go slice a small piece to try now, or if I take it snack time tomorrow with the banana bread and let my friends be the guinea pigs..... mmmmm. I think I need to try it.

Until next time. 

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Run, Hangzhou, Run!

Alrighty folks. Here's the low down. The four-one-one....

My life is pretty cazshsszzz.. That's 'casual' but shortened.
I have no idea how spell that sound.
Give it a try. Say 'casual', but stop around the s.... How do you spell that sound?
I'll take suggestions.

Moving on... It's been a couple weeks since my last foray into the blogger world.

I've said this before, but I feel like I could always say it again. I haven't forgot about you. I seriously haven't. I know you're there, waiting with feigned patience for my next update. Or, if you're my Gram, you check everyday. I just don't have anything going on. My life is pretty normal..... I mean I live in a foreign country... But it's normal.

However, to give you a glimpse into my day to day, I'll lay it out a little bit.

I'm gonna start on Tuesday, because thats where my week begins...

Tuesday: I usually sleep at Zion, so 7am rise and shine, walk to school at 7:30.... Teach two classes (four 45 min periods), Lunch, catch the bus home at 12:40. Then, I rest. Catch up on some work, and some TV and call it a night.

Wednesday: Rise and shine at 6am, catch the school bus at 6:50, get breakfast and kill an hour twenty  at zion (which is a 20 min walk from school), teach one class, lunch with Yvonne (I eat with her every wednesday, she's a friend who is a senior at my school), bus home at 12:40, rest again, then someday's I go help cook dinner for the st*dy at Wenli, where the boys live. Some days I go to the English Corner on my campus.

Thursday: Rise and Shine 6am, school bus 6:50, breakfast and kill hour twenty at zion, teach one class, lunch and rest at zion for about hour 40, teach another class at 1:30, catch the 3:35 bus home, then we have a Chat'n'Snack at Carina and my apartment at 6pm.

Friday: 6am rise, 6:50 bus, two classes, lunch, Zion for a rest and prep for the evening. St*dy at 4 and 6:30 with dinner in between, then sleep at Zion.

Saturday: Chr.ch at Zion, and some cleaning, then head home for my weekend. Saturday afternoon is my time off. I usually try to get some planning done so that I can chill on Sunday. Coffee. I have a coffee maker, but I'm not really home enough during the week to make good use of it.

Sunday: Finish everything I didn't get to Saturday. Or rather procrastinated on.... Coffee! Sunday is the day that I really put the coffee maker through its paces.

Monday: I head out to Zion around midday for Women's st*dy in the afternoon. And spend the night out there for class Tuesday.

All my in-between times are filled with dumb time wasters like getting food, commuting, and sleep.
Actually, I like sleep. Ha!

I also try to get out and bike once or twice a week. And one night a week I go out to Keqiao near Zion to get dinner with Marie. Which usually means that I spend the night at Zion that night too. Last week it was Thursday, this week it was Wednesday (I just got back ;))

Okay....

NOW ON TO THE MAIN EVENT

I was writing originally to tell you about the marathon in Hangzhou!

We (most of my team and I) went up to Hangzhou to see the runners in the marathon. My friends Jen and Sarah, who live in Shanghai, were running the Full and the Half respectively.

I have so much respect for runners. First, all the power to you for wanting to just move in a straight motion for an extended amount of time. Second, for the will power to run for four hours straight. Jen, who I graduated college with, and spend a fair amount of time with finished the Full in about 4 hours. She had hoped to finish in 4:30, and she blew that time out of the water! I was so proud. It was a ton of fun to cheer her on, and see her finish, and just be there for the runners high. (She was pretty goofy. And that's always a good time.)

We had costumes because it was so close to Halloween. We had banners and flags. We had silly string. We got Starbucks between the start and finish. And Subway for lunch. (which we don't have in Shaoxing... so YUM!) I had a blast.

OH! and I almost forgot... On Saturday, a group of us went to the silk market. It's a quaint little street full of small shops that specialize in silk products. Mostly scarves, and dresses, with some boxers, and pi's and some clutches and purses.

I... Of course.... made my contribution to the economy of this market by purchasing three lovely pashminas (one for my momma... I'll try to not wear it!) and three pairs of silk boxers with excellent chinese-y prints on them.

It was overall a great weekend. It was good to get out of Shaoxing and see all our friends.

This next weekend, aka tomorrow, I'm headed up to Shanghai for three days. Gonna see Jen again, and hang out with the crew up there and enjoy my five day weekend.

I'll be sure to let you know all my adventures. I'm hoping to do somethings I didn't have the chance to when I was in Shanghai last year.

Until next time.

P.S. I'm still knitting. Working on a scarf. See?!?